Sandal Castle VA Community Primary School

A Church of England school serving the Community since 1686

Headteacher: Mrs Nichola Russell
Telephone: 01924 303525
Email: headteacher@sandal.wakefield.sch.uk
Address: Barnsley Road, Sandal, Wakefield, West Yorkshire, WF2 6AS

Diocese of Leeds
Thank you for working with us to ensure another safe and happy week back in school. Please refer to the Newsletter 2020/21 page and Covid Communication page for up to date school information
No description available

Term Dates

Below is an overview of our current Term Dates including Half Terms and INSET days:

For a more detailed Calendar of events for this academic year please see below;

TERM DATES 2020 -21

Follow the link below to view the agreed calendar to ensure parent/carers have the most up to date information to hand when booking future holidays.

Wakefield Approved School Calendar 2020/21

Autumn Term
Monday 7th September 2020INSET DAY 1
Tuesday 8th September 2020School Opens
Friday 23rd October 2020Last day -school closes for Half Term
Monday 2nd November 2020School Opens
Friday 18th December 2020Last day -school closes for Christmas
Spring Term
Monday 4th January 2021INSET DAY 2
Tuesday 5th January 2021School Opens
Friday 12th February 2021Last day -school closes for Half Term
Monday 22nd February 2021School Opens
Friday 26th March 2021Last day -school closes for Easter
Summer Term
Monday 12th April 2021School Opens
Monday 3rd May 2021May Day Bank Holiday
Thursday 27th May 2021Last day -school closes for Half Term
Friday 28th May 2021INSET DAY 3
Monday 7th June 2021School Opens
Thursday 22nd July 2021School Closes
Friday 23rd July 2021INSET DAY 4
Monday 26th July 2021INSET DAY 5


The 5 INSET days for 2020/21 are as follows:

7th September 2020

4th January 2021

28th May 2021

23rd July 2021

26th July 2021


TERM DATES 2021 -22

Follow the link below to view the agreed calendar to ensure parent/carers have the most up to date information to hand when booking future holidays.

PLEASE NOTE THE CHANGE TO INSET DAY 3 FROM THE 6TH JUNE TO THE 22ND JULY. THE CHANGE IS DUE TO THE RECENTLY PUBLISHED DATES FOR THE YEAR 1 PHONIC SCREENING CHECK, THE YEAR 4 MULTIPLICATION TABLES CHECK AND THE YEAR 6 SCIENCE TESTS ALL DUE TO TAKE PLACE WC 6TH JUNE 2022.

Wakefield Approved School Calendar 2021/22

Autumn Term
Monday 6th September 2021INSET DAY 1
Tuesday 7th September 2021School Opens
Friday 22nd October 2021Last day -school closes for Half Term
Monday 1st November 2021School Opens
Friday 17th December 2021Last day -school closes for Christmas
Spring Term
Tuesday 4th January 2022INSET DAY 2
Wednesday 5th January 2022School Opens
Friday 18th February 2022Last day -school closes for Half Term
Monday 28th February 2022School Opens
Friday 8th April 2022Last day -school closes for Easter
Summer Term
Monday 25th April 2022School Opens
Monday 2nd May 2022May Day Bank Holiday
Friday 27th May 2022Last day -school closes for Half Term
Monday 6th June 2022School Opens
Thursday 21st July Last day -school closes for Half Term
Friday 22nd July 2022
INSET DAY 3
Monday 25th July 2022
INSET DAY 4
Tuesday 26th July 2022INSET DAY 5


The 5 INSET days for 2021/2022 are as follows:

6th September 2021

4th January 2022

22nd July 2022

25th July 2022

26th July 2022